Tags

, ,

coffeeIf your household is anything like mine, coffee isn’t just an item of convenience, it’s a way of life. We like it strong, we like it thick, and sometimes we even like it cold. Until I met my girlfriend, coffee for me was a somewhat dense and hot black liquid, to which I would add just a bit of sugar and milk to round out the bitter undertones intrinsic to the beverage. Over the past 8 months, she has since introduced me to cappuccino, espresso, and this overpriced cold amalgamation of coffee and milk known as “Frappuccino” (Trademarked to Starbucks, they hold all rights to the name, and I don’t want to be sued).

Like many households, the time differential between my routine and my girlfriend’s routine is such that there are always cold remnants of coffee left in the pot when I wake up in the morning. Instead of wasting the coffee she’s already brewed, I wanted to find a way to use it. At first I considered reheating it in the microwave or on the maker’s hot plate. I found the microwave kills the flavor, and the hot plate takes too long. The other day, as I considered a solution to this puzzle, my thoughts turned to the aforementioned trademarked cold coffee beverage sold in almost every convenience store in the country. It didn’t take me long to rationalize that it basically consists of chocolate milk and coffee, so that’s where I started.

In a tall glass I combined:

-2 tbsp chocolate syrup

-1 cup of coffee

-2 cups of milk

The results weren’t overly surprising, but it would be reasonable to say that the money I’ve been spending on buying the beverage in the store is enough to make me want to cry. Today, I revisited my recipe, and added a bit of my favorite liquid creamer to the mix upped the coffee content, and came out with a candy bar flavored cold coffee beverage. Here’s my recipe:

-2 cups of cold or room temperature coffee

-1 cup of milk

-1/2 cup of your favorite liquid coffee creamer

-2 tbsp of your favorite syrup (chocolate, butterscotch, caramel, etc.)

Stir ingredients in a tall glass, and enjoy as a substitute for your morning cup of coffee, or as a midday treat. Add to ice in a blender, and you have iced coffee.

